25
Nov
08

Oh Airports…

The best part about traveling has to be sitting in airports and watching people come and go. You see some of the most interesting shit, especially when it comes to parents traveling with toddlers.baby harness

The first thing that caught my mind at the airport: the child on a leash. I’m not a proponent of the safety harness/leash on kids. Your child is not a puppy! The baby harness/leash combo is a no-no, even if the harness is a cuddly monkey and its tail doubles as a leash. Actually, I try not to make statements on the way that people raise their kids. On the other hand, you can’t use the leash to jerk your child around. There are other ways to keep track of the kid.

The opposite of the parent that keeps their child on the leash is the parent that lets their little terror (no matter how cute) run around and tear stuff up. Letting your daughter tear up AirTran pamphlets is a no-no. When I saw that little girl running around all helter skelter, I couldn’t help but think that if any kid needed to be on a leash it was her.

And finally, there was the mother that had her daughter put on a show for a bunch of people. Having your son/daughter run, jump, sing and dance in public is a no-no. We all know she’s cute. Damn.

Just one Black woman’s opinion.

2 Responses to “Oh Airports…”


  1. 1 notesfromthemargin
    November 25, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    I don’t know, I cringe at the thought of having to control my 3 year old or my 18month old in an international airport. Neither of them speak very well and the leash is a simple and effective way of keeping them close to you.

    I remember before I had kids I felt the way you do. It ain’t pretty but it works.

  2. 2 Et Cetera
    November 25, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    The more I think of it, the more I understand why parents would employ them. I just hate the fact that it is…a leash. I understand parents using them though.


Leave a Reply

…of Things

The Best of the Rest

Photo Disclaimer

The majority of photographs used in this blog are not mine! I am not trying to take credit for anyone's work.

Do It!

Add to Technorati Favorites

